Category Archives: Pulps

Southwestern Discomfit: An Analysis of Gary Romeo’s Controversial Article on Robert E. Howard and Racism

by Mark Finn Author’s Note: I am indebted to fellow scholars Jess Nevins, Rob Roehm, and Barbara Barrett for their comments and also in the sharing of their research with me in the rewriting of this paper. MF Introduction REHupa #173 was a watershed mailing, way back in February 2002, for a number of reasons. […]

Griot means “storyteller,” which is what Charles Saunders does best

The second of three planned 2011 projects authored by Charles Saunders is now available. Griots, a sword and sorcery anthology features his brand new Imaro novella. The volume features 14 stories set in African or African-inspired backgrounds. Other contributors include Linda Addison, Milton J. Davis, Kirk Johnson, Djeli A. Griot and Maurice Broaddus. The book […]

REH Word of the Week: ambergris

              noun 1. a waxy substance consisting mainly of cholesterol secreted by the intestinal tract of the sperm whale and often found floating in the sea; used in the manufacture of perfumes [origin: Middle English, from Old French ambre gris, “gray amber”] HOWARD’S USAGE: “Lady, hell!” bleated Harrigan. “Do […]

Add Some Spice to Your Life

Rob Roehm, the Hardest Working Man in Howard Fandom, has announced that pre-orders are now being taken for the newest volume from the REH Foundation press, SPICY ADVENTURES. This is the much anticipated collection of REH’s more titillating (heh) writings and features a Yowsa! cover by Jim & Ruth Keegan. Click your way on over […]

Damballa is Here!

Charles Saunders, lifelong Howard fan and author of the Imaro series, has a new pulp novel just out — here are the details: From the heart of Africa to the streets of Harlem, a new hero is born sworn to support and protect Americans of all races and creeds; he is Damballa and he strikes from […]

Damballa is Coming!

Longtime Howard fan and creator of Imaro, Charles Saunders is adding a new title to his resume – pulp fictioneer. Charles has penned a pulp adventure in the tradition of The Shadow and The Spider. The book is titled Damballa, which is also the hero’s name. He describes his new character as the 1930s version […]

Machine Gun Saturday

PulpFest 2010 — Last Minute Updates

PulpFest 2010 is only a week away and some last minute updates have been posted in the Latest News section of their website. The schedule is almost complete – one of the “New Fictioneers” readers canceled, but a replacement for the slot is in the works. Also The Pulpster, the official PulpFest program, is finished and ready […]

Confessions of a Federal Dick

This has to be my all time favorite pulp magazine title. It was a one shot by Clayton in 1930. Actually bed-sheet size instead of the usual 7 x 10 inch. It contains one long story by Lemuel de Bra and an article on the Secret Service.  The issue was reprinted later the same year […]

The Pulp Fictioneers: Frederick Faust

Mention the name Frederick Faust to a casual reader of pulp era fiction, you might get a blank look. Mention Max Brand and you will get recognition. Frederick Faust (1892-1944) was one of the kings of the pulps.  Faust was yet another discovery by Robert Davis who edited the Munsey magazine, All-Story. Davis helped discover […]